NEW RELEASE! Breaking the Myth: A Collection of Unusual Myth Retellings

Breaking the Myth launch graphic

What was once truth passes into folklore. Folklore becomes myth, and, over the years, myths become tales. Extraordinary stories describing fantastical creatures and magical worlds. Worlds that are lost to us.

Or are they?

Myths flirt with the boundary between truth and fantasy. There are the tales we all know, of Greek heroes and Roman gods, Norse warriors and English dragons. But what about the other myths and legends? Stories that are rarely known outside of the countries and cultures they are part of.

These are those tales.

Nine authors have come together to present their own retellings of their favourite myths and legends in Breaking the Myth: A Collection of Unusual Myth Retellings. We invite you to explore these worlds of Scottish, Irish, Roman and Greek myths, each with a modern twist of their own.

Breaking the Myth launches on 25th January 2018, but you can pre-order it now at the special launch price of 99c:

Read on to find out more about this special collection of stories…

Nine tales full of fantasy, love and magic…

Each author has retold their myth in their own genre, but with a summary of the original tale that they were inspired by. From Gorgons in space to the son of the Devil, faerie relics and a wolf’s trial, there’s something for every fantasy fan.

Come, take a look inside Breaking the Myth


LAURA GREENWOOD & SKYE MACKINNON’s is a tale surrounding the Celtic mythology of the Beithir, a deadly serpent.

Bullied and lonely, Amber is not having the best of times at Ben Vair, a college for supernatural teenagers. Until Izban arrives, a mage who is much more than he seems… and his blue hair is rather sexy, too.

Through the Storms is a Paranormal story and part of the Seven Wardens series.

Skye MacKinnon graphic

SKYE MACKINNON’s is a tale based on the myth of Beira (Bhéara), the personification of winter and the mother of all the Gods and Goddesses in Scottish mythology.

Goddess Beira has grown tired and lonely. After millennia of living on her own, she decides it’s time to create the perfect lover. But while Colan might look like the man of her dreams, he’s not falling in love with her as she’d planned. Can she change his mind or has it all been for nothing?

Mother of Gods is a Fantasy Romance story and a prequel to the bestselling Daughter of Winter series.

ROZ MARSHALL’s is a tale that incorporates many creatures of Celtic mythology including the Kelpie (shape-shifting water spirit), Urisk (a creature with the upper half of a man and the lower half of a goat) and Cailleach (a supernatural being associated with winter).

Cursed by an evil crone and trapped in the icy wastes of the faerie realm, all peace-loving Elphin wants is to return home. But the terms of his enchantment make him despair for his future – until Scots teenager Corinne MacArthur stumbles into his world. And into mortal danger.

Kelpie Curse is an Urban Fantasy story in The Celtic Fey Series.

Roz Marshall graphic
Arizona Tape graphic

ARIZONA TAPE’s is a retelling of the Roman mythology surrounding Romulus and Remus.

Yin and yang, black and white, no shadow without the light. Neither can exist without the other. Or can they? Kuro is determined to find out if he can break away from his twin and if so, what the consequences would be. After all, why would the world need two wolves?

White Wolf, Black Wolf is a Fantasy story set in the My Winter Wolf universe.

K.C. CARTER’s is a retelling of the Irish myth of Cú Chulainn, The Hound of King Culann.

A young Celtic woman finds herself in the service of the king and not all is as it seems. When Sorcha accidentally slays the king’s ferocious guard dog, she is given the option to take its place or die.

The Hound is a standalone Fantasy story.

Bea Paige graphic


BEA PAIGE’s is a retelling of the story of Medusa, one of the Gorgons of Greek mythology.

Tiresias is the lowest of the low. Born into slavery because he is a human with no animal hybrid mix. He is also blind, so right at the bottom of the pecking order. When he is hired to work in Medusa’s brothel, the most powerful human-animal hybrid, the last thing he expects is to fall in love.

Blinded Love is a Paranormal Fantasy Romance and part of the Searching for Eden series.

GINA WYNN’s is a retelling of the Irish myth, The Stolen Bride.

It’s Sylvie’s wedding day, but it’s not a happy one. Abducted by trolls, she’s then kidnapped by Grim, a son of the devil. When she wakes in his home, she’s mute and can’t eat. Together with Lorn, his brother, all three must work to break the spell that took Sylvie’s voice.

The Stolen Bride is a Paranormal Fantasy Romance and a Kindred Sphere story.

AMANDA J EVANS’s is a tale based on the old Irish myth of the banshee.

Isla is a warrior of the Summer Court. She has one mission, to keep humans out of Faery. Kill them on sight. When she inadvertently saves one and triggers the mating bond, she sets in motion a series of events that will change her life forever.

Hear Me Cry is a Dark Fantasy standalone story.

Amanda J Evans graphic

ALISON INGLEBY’s is a retelling of the Scottish legend of the Fairy Flag of the MacLeods.

When a deadly virus threatens his family, Fin MacLeod looks to an ancient clan heirloom to call the faeries to their aid. In his heart, he knows they don’t exist… until a beautiful young woman proves otherwise. Fin will sacrifice anything to save his clan, but is the sacrifice his to make?

The Faerie Flag is a Contemporary Fantasy standalone story.

Want to read more? Get your copy of Breaking the Myth today to find out how the stories end…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: